11 July 2023

It has been nearly two years since Sweet Reward had graced the winner's enclosure. And despite running many fine races in defeat, winning really is the name of the game in racehorse ownership and on Wednesday evening, he roared to victory at Epsom Downs (home of the Derby) to win the 1m 2f handicap under jockey Rob Hornby. 

He likes to front run and dictated the pace before fighting off challenges from horses trained by two other Old Stoics (Michael Bell - Cobham 79 and James Fanshawe - Temple 79) to hold on by three quarters of a length. Much to the excitement of many members of the Old Stoic Racing Club and trainer Jonny Portman (Chatham 83). 

Sweet Reward's victory is now the tenth win for our Stowe Racing syndicates since they began back in 2017 and another £350 will be donated to the school's Change 100 campaign from his prize money win. 

The syndicates are coordinated by Henry Kimbell (Chandos 04) who explained, ''We were thrilled with that performance. Sweet Reward has run some mighty fine races for us over the years including when just touched off in a photo finish at Newbury in May and so this was deserved. To have a winner at the home of the Derby and standing in the same winners' circle is quite something and I hope we can push on now and have a successful second half of 2023 with our four flat horses."

Sweet Reward will hopefully head next to the famous Glorious Goodwood Festival at the beginning of August so any Stoics attending should keep an eye out. 

The next Stowe runner will be Way Of Life - also trained by Portman - who will race for the Stowe 100 Club, a syndicate created to mark Stowe's centenary, at Windsor on 17th July. 

If you don't already, you can follow their progress by joining the Old Stoic Racing Club Facebook page or following @ StoweRacing on Twitter. 

A link to his race can be found here. 








Members of the Old Stoic Racing Club 

Charles Allen 

Barbara and Alistair Clutton 

Robert Cooper 

Katie Fellows-Smith 

Lyn and Rachel Griffiths 

Alex Hales 

David Kimbell 

Tom Mallett

Mark Partington 

Richard Hill 

Thomasina Sandys 

Peter Summers 

Timothy Hill 

Paul Varney 

Marcus Wilesmith