Our Unique History

Our school has a truly unique history that is evident the moment you step through the High Street gates.

Founded in 1875 in St Leonard-on-Sea near Hastings, the school moved to its present site in the market town of Brackley on the borders of Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire in 1922 to escape the dangers of the First World War.

Winchester House is now set in a large mansion, that was originally a gift to the Earls of Ellesmere by King George III as a reward for building the world’s first ever canal. From the Tudor style façade of the main Manor House, to the stone coats of arms overlooking the Third Form Lawn, the building’s storied history is still visible today and provides a fascinating backdrop to learning.

  • 1876 - Winchester House School started as a school in 1876 in St Leonards-on-Sea near Hastings. It was advertised as preparing boys for the public schools and the Royal Navy.
  • 1912 - It combined with Spondon House School from Derbyshire and became one school in 1912.
  • 1918 - During WW1 Winchester House School moved to its current site at Brackley to escape the coastal dangers of the First World War
  • 1977 – Day pupils were welcomed for the first time
  • 1976 – Pre-prep department started
  • 1976 – Winchester House School became co-educational
  • 1988 – New Pre-Prep building opened
  • 1989 – Winchester House School became co-educational with the opening of the girls’ boarding house at Drayton Cottage
  • 1994 – The Hippo was built
  • 1997 – Sports Hall was opened in honour of the former headmaster, Richard Speight
  • 2003 – Mark Seymour became headmaster (taking over from Mr Griffith)
  • 2005 – The Seligman and The Forum were built
  • 2013 – The new Nursery building was built and opened by the Mayor of Brackley
  • 2014 – New AstroTurf was built and officially opened by old-girl and England Hockey Player, Storm Sunderland