Festival of the Arts

6 March 2017


On Saturday 4 and Sunday 5 March, around twenty Stoic musicians took part in the annual Milton Keynes Festival of the Arts. The standard of this year’s competition was the highest I can remember but I am pleased to report that Stowe was extremely well-represented at the festival and we walked away with several prizes. I would like to congratulate all those who took part. It was clear that a great deal of preparation and practice had taken place in the weeks and months leading up to the festival. The prize winners from the festival are as follows:

Audrey Au (Third Form, Lyttelton), 1st prize, advanced strings class; Jeffrey Au (Fourth Form, Walpole), 1st prize, piano recital class (17 and under); Rosia Li (Third Form, Stanhope), 1st prize, diploma romantic piano and 2nd prize, advanced strings; Poppy de Salis (Fifth Form,  Stanhope), 1st prize, strings recital (17 and under); Charlotte Brennan (Lower Sixth, West) 1st prize, plucked instrument class; Arabella Coldstream (Upper Sixth, Lyttelton), 1st prize, ‘Song from a Musical’; Helena Vince (Fifth Form, Queen’s), 3rd prize, intermediate strings, 3rd prize, aria class (18 and under) and 3rd prize, ‘Song from a Musical’; Emily Banks (Fourth Form, Lyttelton), 2nd prize aria class (18 and under);  Isabel Ward (Fifth Form, Stanhope), 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize, advanced recorder, advanced flute and woodwind recital classes respectively.

Following on from these successes, Audrey Au, Jeffrey Au and Charlotte Brennan have been selected as three of six finalists from over 1,000 festival participants to take part in the Milton Keynes Young Musician of the Year competition on Saturday 11 March. We wish them every success and look forward to hearing how they get on.

I would like to thank Sarah Searle for helping to organise the significant logistics for the weekend, Rachel Sherry and Alex Aitken for their   assistance with accompaniment and also Miles Nottage for stepping in at the last minute and assisting with transport for the festival.

Ben Andrew, Head of Keyboard